Question: Where Can I Fish For Saltwater In Florida?

What time of year are sharks most active in Florida?

There is a well-documented annual blacktip shark migration along Florida’s coasts each winter.

Hammerhead sharks are known to eat blacktip sharks, as well as tarpon.

From January to March, tens of thousands of blacktips and spinner sharks arrive to reside in the shallow warm waters off Palm Beach County..

What fish are biting in Florida right now?

Pompano are already arriving in the area and not only provide great fishing action. Spanish mackerel and bluefish will continue to hang out in their favorite haunts of the river. Drum and sheepshead are arriving early again this year.

How do you fish saltwater in Florida?

Artificial lures are often used for anglers saltwater fishing in Florida on the shallow flats. Top water lures can be very effective as they ride up over the bottom and do not get snagged. Light buck tail and soft plastic tail jigs can be used to either sight cast or blind cast as well.

How many fishing rods can I use in Florida?

Game fish may only be taken with pole and line or rod and reel. There is no limit on the number of rods an angler may use.

What license do I need for scalloping in Florida?

Florida residents need a regular saltwater fishing license, unless exempt (scallopers under 16 years of age, residents 65 years of age or older with proof of residency and age, or scallopers on a boat with a valid recreational saltwater fishing license).

Do you need a fishing license in Florida on private property?

A freshwater fishing license is not required if: You are fishing in a fish pond of 20 acres or less which is located entirely within the private property of its owner.

Where can I get a Florida saltwater fishing license?

Saltwater fishing licenses can be obtained online at GoOutdoorsFlorida.com, at county tax collectors’ offices and license agents, or by calling toll-free 888-FISH-FLORIDA (347- 4356).

How much is a Florida fishing license at Walmart?

The cost of a fishing license from a Walmart in Florida is $17.50. This is for a 1-year license for fishing in freshwater or saltwater. A 1-year combination license, nevertheless, costs $30.50. A “coastline” license is also available to residents free of charge.

What is the fine for fishing without a license in Florida?

Fishing in Florida without a license is a level one violation under Section 379.354 of the Florida statutes and considered a noncriminal infraction. Level one violations involving fishing license requirements carry a civil penalty equal to the cost of the license plus $50.

Does Walmart in Florida sell fishing licenses?

Yes, it is possible to purchase a fishing license at Walmart stores across the United States. … For example, in Florida a 3 day non-resident fishing license costs the same as a resident annual fishing license ($17 at time of writing).

Do you need a license to crab in Florida?

Recreational fishers age 16 and older (including those normally exempt from needing a license) are required to complete an online, no-cost recreational blue and stone crab trap registration before using blue or stone crab traps.

How many hooks can you have on a line in Florida?

10 hooksFor recreational fishing, you can have up to 10 hooks on a line (trotline).

The shoreline saltwater fishing license is available to Florida residents only. Nonresident saltwater anglers must purchase a regular nonresident saltwater fishing license at $17 for three days, $30 for seven days or $47 for one year, regardless of whether they fish from shore or a vessel.

Do you need a license to fish from shore in Florida?

A Florida fishing license is required to land saltwater species in Florida regardless of where they are caught (state or federal waters). Valid for saltwater fishing from the shoreline or a structure affixed to shore. Not valid when fishing from a vessel, or a shoreline reached by vessel.

What is the best bait for beach fishing?

Pair saltwater live bait with these four quick tips for choosing the right bait.Shrimp. Shrimp is a go to bait for saltwater anglers. … Shellfish. Lots of different species of fish eat shellfish like clams, mussels, or crabs. … Cut Bait. Cut bait has a strong aroma which is a key way to attract saltwater fish. … Bait Fish.

Can you keep a shark if you catch it in Florida?

Many species of sharks are prohibited from harvest, possession, or landing in Florida waters. Prohibited shark species must be released without delay when fishing from the shore. If hook removal will delay release, cut the hook or the leader as close to the hook as possible.

Does a 65 year old need a fishing license in Florida?

Florida residents age 65 or older only need a Florida Driver License or Identification Card to prove residency and age. They are not required to purchase the following recreational licenses and permits: Saltwater fishing, freshwater fishing and hunting licenses.

Where is the best shore fishing in Florida?

That’s why we decided to put together a list of some of our favorite Florida fishing spots for the thrill of a lifetime!Jacksonville / St. Augustine. … Daytona Beach. Daytona is a popular beach destination. … Sarasota. Fishing. … Naples. Fishing. … Fort Myers / Cape Coral. Fishing. … Miami. Fishing. … Tampa Bay. Fishing. … Panama City Beach.More items…•

What is the best month to fish in Florida?

Fishing CalendarFishSeasonBestTarponYear RoundJune – OctoberGrouperJan 1 – May 31November – MarchKingfishSeptember-AprilDecember – MarchSailfishYear RoundDecember- March8 more rows

What is the best bait for shore fishing?

For float fishing the most common baits are mackerel strips, rag worm, sand eels and squid. For the bottom the most common are rag worm, peeler crabs and squid….There are a number of choices for bait, these include:Mackerel Strips.Rag Worm.Lug Worm.Peeler Crab.Sand Eels.Live Prawns.Squid.

At what age do you no longer need a fishing license in Florida?

16 yearsYou do not need a freshwater fishing license if… You are a child under 16 years of age. You are a Florida resident 65 years of age or older and you possess proof of age and residency, such as a Florida driver’s license or ID, or an optional no-cost Resident 65+ Hunting and Fishing Certificate.